According to Statista, there will be 2.25 billion TikTok users in 2027. With this rising count, there’s a race to produce high-quality content to have more followers and likes.
That’s why it has allowed the creation of stories like other social media platforms. Yet when you are posting a lot of content, there are chances that you accidentally post a story that wasn’t supposed to be posted.
But you don’t need to worry because TikTok understands the needs of its users and offers appropriate features. You can quickly delete as many stories as you want from your profile whenever you post something embarrassing.
You can delete your unwanted TikTok story within seconds from your profile. Go to your profile, open the story, and click on the three dots in the right corner of the posted story. You will see a “Delete” option in the tab you just opened. Simply click on it, and you’re done!
Step-by-Step Guide to Delete a TikTok Story
Whether using it on your Android or iOS device, you can follow easy steps and delete your story. Start from step one and move on until the last one so you don’t miss the details.
Step # 1: Launch the TikTok App
Open the TikTok app from your device. You might already be logged in to your account, but if not, enter your information and log in to your account.
You can only delete a story from the account you’re logged in, so it’s crucial to put the correct account information when you log in.
Step # 2: Open Your Profile Icon
Login to your account and click the profile icon in the bottom right corner. It will open your profile on the screen.
Step # 3: Tap On Your TikTok Profile Picture
After you view your profile on the screen, you need to go to your posted stories. You can open your published stories by clicking on the profile picture.
Step # 4: Go To The Story
If you have posted more than one story from your account, open the story you want to delete. Be careful to select the story because you cannot retrieve it once you delete it.
Step # 5: Click On Three Dots
You will see three horizontal dots on the options available on the right side of your story. If you can’t see these three dots, check below the comment box option, and you will find the three dots. Click on them to open a tab for further options.
Step # 6: Select “Delete”
Now, you can see three options on the new screen. Select the “Delete” option to delete your story permanently.
Step # 7: Confirm To Delete
Once you click the delete option, you will see a new tab for confirmation. The purpose of confirmation is to save you from unwanted deletes.
So, you must be very careful before clicking it. After you click on it, your story will be deleted permanently from your profile.
Why Do You Need To Delete A TikTok Story?
TikTok stories allow users to post short-form content on their stories. Short-form content is more critical than long-form videos, as you can post high-value content within a few minutes.
But sometimes, you may post the wrong content or something you didn’t plan. So, of course, this must be deleted as soon as possible.
Yet, there can be multiple other reasons that you may want to remove the story permanently.
- Copyrighted content
- Errors in the story
- Need to make any changes/improvements in the story
- Posted wrong file
- Change of plan
Do I Need To Delete TikTok Story, or will it Disappear?
TikTok stories are 24 hours long and automatically disappear after that. You may already know about this feature if you are familiar with using different social media platforms.
The purpose of the story feature is to post a picture or a video that remains on your profile for a short period. Then, you may ask why you need to delete a story when it can disappear.
So, as we have already mentioned, you may sometimes end up with content that is not supposed to be viewed by anyone.
Within 24 hours before your story disappears, it can be viewed by millions of people. That’s why it’s crucial if it’s inappropriate.
What Will Happen When I Delete A Story From My TikTok Profile?
There can be multiple scenarios of what TikTok will do to your deleted story.
So here are those scenarios mentioned for you so you can have an idea:
- Many social media platforms like Instagram and Facebook have the option to get replies to your story. However, TikTok does not have an option to message your posted story directly. Deleting your story will not affect your direct messages as they are not linked with the story.
- When you delete a story, none of your followers will be notified about this action. Even if some of your followers have already viewed your story, they will not be notified. This allows you to change your story without worrying about letting anyone know.
- Once you select to delete your story, none of your followers can access it or view it again. Some other social media platforms, like Instagram, allow users to achieve stories and highlights. These achieved stories can be viewed later on by them. Yet TikTok has not given any option up till now.
Frequently Asked Questions
Ready To Delete Your TikTok Story?
There’s no need to feel worried if you’ve posted something embarrassing on TikTok. We are sure you can now quickly delete any story from your profile.
You only need to follow our step-by-step guide to reach your goal. You can tell us in the comments whenever you need more information like this. We will be more than happy to help you.
We are a team of tech experts who are dedicated to providing top-notch tutorials, solutions, and reviews for a range of tech products. We strive to keep our audience informed and up-to-date with the latest news and updates emerging in the tech world.